Alemka Mirkov

Slogin kula 2/1 :: 51000 Rijeka :: Croatia

The Primorje and Gorski Kotar County is located in the Western part of the Republic of Croatia, at the point of encounter of the blue Northern Adriatic and the green mountainous region of Gorski Kotar. It is the fifth biggest County in Croatia. The Primorje-Gorski Kotar County is a unit of regional self-government encompassing 14 towns and 22 municipalities. The seat of the County is in Rijeka. The County performs its activities through 12 departments with regional competences dealing with spatial and urban planning, regional development, tourism, entrepreneurship, rural development, sports, culture, technical culture, youth, planning and development of network of educational, health, social and cultural institutions. As regional authority, the County is responsible for the activities that refer to organized measures to prevent disease, promote health and prolong life expectancy of the population, and it will be involved as a regional decision maker and partner contributing to the regional health care.